top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLaura Park

Marine Biologist, OSC

Updated: Nov 8, 2023

Since May of 2022, I have been employed as a Marine Biologist for Ocean Science Consulting Ltd. or OSC.





Since commencing my employment, I have become certified in:

  • Oil and Gas Medical

  • Fit to Train Medical

  • BOSIET and CA-EBS with HUET

  • Marine Mammal Observer (MMO) via JNCC

  • Protected Species Observer (PSO) via BOEM

  • Passive Acoustic Monitoring Operator (PAMO) via OSC Ltd.

  • Acoustic Deterrent Device (ADD) Operator via OSC Ltd.


When onshore, I work in the OSC headquarters office in Dunbar, Scotland working on creating literature reviews, research information, developing tenders and writing reports for scientific research. I have also started taking on Research Assistant responsibilities for Managing Director Dr Victoria Todd as and when necessary.


However, when offshore, I can be sent worldwide to oil and gas Jack ups/rigs and or various vessels conducting renewable energy implementation or demobilisation which can include:

  • Piling operations

  • UxO operations

  • Seismic operations

  • Noise recording

  • Click detector deployment/retrieval

  • Installing equipment

When on ship or rig, I may act as an MMO, PAMO, ADDO, noise recording operator or all of the above.

2 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page